Prairie Creek Community School School Board Monthly Meeting Minutes June 23, 2022 @ 7:00pm

Prairie Creek Community School, Northfield MN 55057

- 1 Call to order 7:06pm
- 2 Attendance

2021-2022	Aug 26	Sep 23	Oct 28	Nov 18	Dec 16	Jan 27	Feb 24	Mar 24	Apl 28	May 26	Jun 23
Shelly Dickinson	X	✓	✓	X	X	1	1	X	✓	1	1
Don Findlay	1	X	1	1	X	1	✓	X	✓	1	✓
Kelsey Fitschen-Hemmah	1	>	>	✓	✓	✓	1	✓	1	1	1
Tim Goodwin	1	\	>	X	✓	✓	✓	✓	X	✓	✓
Molly McGovern Wills	X	✓	✓	1	1	X	✓	✓	✓	1	✓
Beth Molitor	1	1	1	X	1	1	✓	1	✓	1	✓
Lyndsey Reece	1	1	1	1	X	✓	X	✓	✓	√	X
Christine Williams	1	1	1	1	1	1	1	1	✓	1	✓
Margit Zsolnay	1	✓	✓	1	1	1	✓	1	✓	1	✓
Simon Tyler-ex officio	✓	✓	✓	1	1	1	1	1	✓	1	1
Keith Johnson- ex officio	1	✓	√	1	1	✓	1	1	✓	1	✓
Colleen Braucher	✓	X	✓	✓	1	1	✓	✓	1	1	✓

- 3 Recognition/Announcements: % team for their work on the graduation ceremony. All those that made the event possible especially the % teachers. Thank you to Don and Molly for their service to the board. Molly for her work on the education program and Don for his leadership on the development committee. Don's general presence in the building during multiple events, his willingness to always help out.
- 4 Public Comments: Anna Lisa Rustad wants to thank the board for supporting the ADSIS grant. Nancy Dennis and Zaki Haidar attended as future board members.
- 5 Approve Agenda

Moved: Don Findlay

Second: Margit Zsolnay

Passed: unanimous

6 Approve Minutes from the May 26, 2022 meeting

Moved: Kelsey Fitschen-Hemmah

Second: Shelly Dickinson

Passed: unanimous

7 Items for discussion and/or reports

- a Director Report: We were able to conduct all of the big traditions at the end of the year. The literary magazine, Mini Fair, k/1 field day, ¾ field trip to Lebanon Hill. We have a few families leave at the end of the year. We currently have 181 students enrolled for the 2022-2023 school year. We enrolled a set of twins in the first grade per our admissions policy. It will remain over enrolled until attrition makes the adjustment. Megan Fishman has been hired as the long term music/orchestra teacher for next school year. Hannah Bauer has been hired as a special education paraprofessional, Martha Meyer will be an assistant in ASC. We are still in the process of hiring an art teacher. Simon will update the board when we have the position filled. Cleaning and a few enhancements are being scheduled for this summer. Tim, Laura, and Simon have been working together to get student teachers here from BSU to student teach in progress education school. There are not many progressive education schools to do student teacher training. They discussed how we can get a pipeline of student teachers. They would like to have host families so the student teacher's would not have to pay for room and board for while they are student teaching in a different community.
- b Education Program Committee: The faculty retreat was held as Keepsake Cidery. We talked a lot about the culture of our school and what are the components that make us PCCS. We discussed some strategic planning. Six teachers will participate in coaching classes this summer.
 - i ADSIS Report Review: ADSIS an intervention service for students. This program was created to bridge the gap and reduce the number of special education students. Anna Lisa Rustad is our ADSIS teacher. We use the FastBridge assessment tool that we used. Twenty-four students were served during the school year and 3 were referred to special education. The teachers spoke about how grateful they were for Anna Lisa and her expert eye on students as well.
- c Finance Committee: Keith presented the revised budget for the 2021-2022 school year for approval later in the meeting. The main adjustment in the adopted budget to the

revised budget is we received the PPP loan in the previous year. MDE issued Prairie Creek Community School with the finance award.

- d Development Committee: We raised about \$58,000 of our \$60,000 goal.
- e Nominations Committee: Thank you Don and Molly for your service on the board. Welcome to Nancy and Zaki for joining the board. Shelly for continuing her service to the school. Please update your board bios.
 - f Policy Committee: Nothing at this time
 - g Sub Committee Reports: Nothing at this time
- 8 Items for Action
 - a Consent Agenda

Approve FY23 Designs for Learning (EdFi)

Approve updated Sanborn Education contract
Approve OT Contract - Joan Stage
Approve Michelle Flannery Contract
Approve BVI Orientation & Mobility Contract - Connie Telschow

Staff Working Agreements:

Director Simon Tyler

K/1 Teacher Amy Brown 1.0 FTE

K/1 Teacher Amy Narveson 1.0 FTE

K/1 Teacher Amanda Solinger 1.0FTE

2/3 Teacher Nancy Dennis 1.0 FTE

2/3 Teacher Molly McGovern Wills 1.0 FTE

2/3 Teacher Amy Haslett-Marroquin 1.0 FTE

4 / 5 Teacher Michelle Martin 1.0 FTE

4 / 5 Teacher Ryan Kiesel 1.0 FTE

4 / 5 Teacher Amber Reher 1.0 FTE

Music/Orchestra 0.6 FTE Long Term Substitute Teacher Megan Fishman

Spanish Teacher 0.375 FTE Tricia Christopherson

Reading Intervention Teacher 0.8FTE Anna Lisa Rustad

Special Education Coordinator/Teacher Kelsey Fitschen-Hemmah 1.1 FTE

Special Education Teacher Michelle Bigalke 1.1 FTE

Special Education Teacher Cale Steinhoff 1.1 FTE

Special Education Paraprofessional Natalie Ojala

Special Education Paraprofessional Nicole Teske

Special Education Paraprofessional/ Teaching Assistant Samantha Bolton

Special Education Paraprofessional/ Health PCA /After School Care Lead Jakob Anderson

Special Education Paraprofessional / After School Care Assistant Hannah Bauer

Office Manager Colleen Braucher

Office Assistant/Special Education Administrative Assistant Diana Drager

Office Assistant Megan O'Meara

Financial Officer Keith Johnson School Nurse Connie Menssen After School Care Assistant Martha Meyer Teaching Assistant / Library / After School Care Assistant Olivia Rezac Teaching Assistant Mary Poole

Moved: Kelsey Fitschen-Hemmah

Second: Beth Molitor

Passed: unanimous

b Elect Board Officers

Board Chair: Christine Williams

Board Vice Chair: Tim Goodwin

Treasurer: Kelsey Fitschen-Hemmah

Secretary: Beth Molitor

Moved: Shelly Dickinson

Second: Don Findlay

Passed: unanimous

c Set Board Meeting Schedule for 2022-2023

4th Thursday of the month with the exception of November, December and March when it is the 3td Thursday. Meeting will continue to be held at 7pm

Moved: Margit Zsolnay

Second: Shelly Dickinson

Passed: unanimous

d Approve Revised 2021-2022 Budget

Moved: Don Findlay

Second: Kelsey Fitschen-Hemmah

Passed: unanimous

9. Adjournment 8:27pm

Next board meeting Thursday, August 25, 2022 @ 6:00pm (Place TBD)